Sunday, 30 December 2012

The Seven Deadly Fears.

The seven deadly sins are manifestations of fear :

Anger - is an instinctive reaction to anything we fear (fight or flight).

Lying - is fear of what will happen if we tell the truth (cowardice).

Avarice - is fear of not having enough (poverty).

Gluttony - is fear of hunger (compensation).

Lust - is looking for love.

Envy - is fear of not being as good as your neighbor (losing love).

Sloth - is fear of work (toil).

All suffering is caused by sin.
All sin is caused by fear.
Everything is forgivable.

When we understand the cause of sin we are able to forgive it through sympathy and compassion (tears).

Photo Credit: Nathan deGargoyle Flickr via Compfight cc

No comments:

Post a Comment